Hope Springs Eternal


Happy Easter! I hope everyone has enjoyed time with family or friends. Today I’m reflecting on how blessed our lives are. Each and every day we get the opportunity to care for and experience God’s creation. He gave us our land, our animals and each other.  He challenges us, too, but I often remind myself that God won’t give us more than we can handle.

This morning one of our heifers delivered her first calf, and it was a heifer. Mom and baby are doing great. The rye we planted last fall is growing well and soon will be chopped and added to our cows’ ration. We currently have seed for oats, alfalfa and corn ready to be planted to also be used as feed for our cows later this year. There is a constant circle of life at the dairy. Spring is an exceptionally busy time with field work needing to be done in addition to all of the daily chores (milking, feeding, etc), but Easter is a great time to reflect on the blessing that all of this work really is.

This year, in addition to helping at the farm, I have been spending much of my time preparing for my SE (Structural Engineering) exam. If I pass, I will be a Professional Engineer, allowing me to seal construction documents in Kansas. The test has two portions, each 8 hours long (16 hrs total next Friday and Saturday). It covers a wide variety of material, and as you can imagine, requires quite a bit of studying. It’s been a long road, but the end is in sight.

We also closed on our house last week.  David has been living in this house for over seven years, and we’ve been living here together for almost two.  The house needs a lot of work, and until now we haven’t been able to do much of that for fear of losing our investment.  We’re a little overwhelmed by the size of the project, but we’re also excited to finally get started.

As we face the stress of planting season, my test, and now home ownership, it helps to reflect on our blessings and appreciate that great challenges come with great rewards. I leave you with a picture of the newest member of our herd and some of the lyrics from one of my favorite hymns that helps me remember that we can and will make it through whatever we may face.

Easter Heifer Calf
God sent His son, they called him Jesus
He came to love, heal, and forgive.
He lived and died to buy my pardon,
An empty grave is there to prove my Savior lives.
Because He lives, I can face tomorrow.
Because He lives, all fear is gone.
Because I know He holds the future,
And life is worth the living just because He lives…

Happy Easter!  He is Risen!

One thought on “Hope Springs Eternal

What are your thoughts?

